Skip to main content

EBSCO Support Center for TexQuest: For Library eBook Staff

Support documentation for EBSCO eBooks and LearningExpress

EBSCO Contacts

Customize Your District Collection

Thomas McCaffrey, Customer Account Specialist
EBSCO Technical Support
TexQuest@ebsco.com
800-653-2726 x3268

 

Request Training

For more information, visit http://texquest.net/welcome/texquesttraining. To request a training webinar, complete the TexQuest Webinar Request Form.

Training contact:
Lisa Dennis, Senior Customer Engagement Manager

EBSCO Customer Engagement Services
lisadennis@ebsco.com
713-823-8080 (mobile – call or text)
800-653-2726 x2087

Retrieving EBSCO eBooks MARC Records with OCLC WorldShare® Collection Manager

EBSCO offers free, customizable MARC records for every eBook subscription and title purchase through our partnership with OCLC.

To receive OCLC MARC record deliveries, EBSCO eBook customers need to set up access to OCLC's WorldShare Collection Manager service. To get OCLC MARC records from Collection Manager, customers need to have a Collection Manager account.

How do I get my MARC records from Collection Manager?

To get OCLC MARC records from Collection Manager, customers need to have a Collection Manager account.

If you do not have a Collection Manager account:

  1. Fill out the Request Form to receive your Welcome Guide and instructions for creating an account.
  2. Set up your account and preferences with the instructions and documentation OCLC will provide.

If you do have a Collection Manager account:

  • Contact OCLC Support and say "Please load my EBSCO collections. My OCLC symbol is [###]. My Registry ID is [number].”

Next, customers will need to perform a one-time setup process to configure their MARC record delivery and customization preferences. Detailed instructions and information about this process can be found here and in OCLC’s EBSCO QuickStart Guide.

Where can I find out more information about Collection Manager?

Who do I contact if I have questions about Collection Manager?

If customers have questions or are experiencing problems with Collection Manager, they can get in touch with OCLC support at the regional office nearest them:

OCLC Support

Customizing EBSCO eBooks with EBSCOadmin

This tutorial demonstrates how administrators can use EBSCOadmin to customize the eBooks experience for their users.

Administrator FAQs

How can administrators modify the checkouts and holds settings for EBSCO eBooks?
  1. Log into EBSCOadmin at http://admin.ebscohost.com.

  2. Click the Site/Group Maintenance button in the toolbar.

  3. Click the Go link below eBooks or Audiobooks to access the available settings.

    The eBooks or Audiobooks settings screen is displayed.

  4. Adjust your settings for Checkout Duration, Holds, Offline Downloads, etc.

  5. Click Submit.

To learn more, see Checking out and Downloading EBSCO eBooks on EBSCO Help.

How do I change the default start page for EBSCO eBooks?

The EBSCO eBooks database features a landing page that can be set as the default start page that users see when accessing the database.

To change the default start page:

  1. Log in to EBSCOadmin at http://admin.ebscohost.com.

  2. Select the desired eBooks profile from the Choose Profile drop-down menu.

  3. Click the Databases Sub-Tab.

  4. Next to the eBooks database, select eBook Collection from the Start Page drop-down list.

  5. Click Submit.

Retrieving eBook Statistics

What statistical data are available for eBooks in EBSCOadmin?

The following statistical fields are available for eBooks when generating a Database report in EBSCOadmin:

  • eBook Online Full Text Requests — The total number of eBook full text requests when a user chooses to read eBook full text online in the EBSCOhost interface.

  • eBook Offline/Download Requests — The total number of eBook download requests when a user chooses to download an eBook and read it on either their computer or portable device.

Questions? Visit the TexQuest Contact Us page.

Purchasing EBSCO eBooks

Learn about how you can purchase EBSCO eBooks for your institution's library.

Promoting eBooks

Promote eBook use in the classroom with this colorful Top Ten Reasons to use EBSCO eBooks in the K-12 Classroom flyer. View additional promotional resources here.

Subscription Usage Reports

If you subscribe to eBook collections from EBSCO, you can access eBook Subscription Usage reports using the EBSCOadmin Reports and Statistics feature. To learn how to run eBook Subscription Usage reports, see the following FAQ on our Support Site:

How can I access eBook Subscription usage reports using EBSCOadmin?

Need Help with EBSCO Products?

EBSCO logo

IMLS logo

Funding for TexQuest is provided in part by a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Texas State Library and Archives Commission in combination with state and local funds.

EBSCO Information Services | 10 Estes Street | Ipswich, MA USA | 800-653-2726 | 978-356-6500 | www.ebsco.com