Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EBSCO Support Center for TexShare: For Librarians & Library Administrators

On this page, librarians and library administrators will find FAQs about title lists and MARC records and promotional resources to help market EBSCO resources to end users. Also visit the Recorded Training Sessions and EBSCOadmin Tutorials pages.

Downloading Title Lists from EBSCOadmin

EBSCOadmin allows administrators to download title lists in MARC 21, HTML or Tab Delimited formats. Download instructions, modification notes and sample records may be available for each format.

You can download a version of a file with all journals in the product, including those that provide only indexing and abstracting information, or a file with only those titles that have full text.

To download Database Title Lists from EBSCOadmin:

  1. Click the Database Title Lists Tab.

  2. Click on the sub-tab that corresponds to the format you want to download: MARC 21, HTML, or Tab Delimited.

  3. Interfaces - If you would like to download title lists in a format compatible with a specific interface (e.g., Business Searching Interface, etc.), select the interface from the drop-down list. Each title will include a persistent URL that directs the user to the appropriate interface. If you do not select an interface, this field will default to "Not Specified" and a "generic" title list will be downloaded.

  4. Product name - From the list of databases, click on the file name in the corresponding column. Your browser download window will open. Follow the instructions on the download window to save the file to your system.

  5. Once the files have been downloaded, they must be processed into the catalog or added to the library web page. Check with your systems group or ILS vendor for assistance.

MARC Records FAQs

Q. What fields are included in machine-generated MARC records?

Machine-generated records are brief and consist of the following fields:

001 003 007 008 035 040 042 222 245 500 530 650 773 856

The 245 field is the full title (as found in the EBSCO title database) placed in the $a subfield.

Q. With what "standards" do EBSCO's MARC records comply?

EBSCO's records comply with MARC21 standards. For more information on this format and associated field definitions, please refer to: www.loc.gov/marc/specifications/.

In addition, records comply with MARC record guidelines for journals in aggregator databases drafted by the PCC (Program for Cooperative Cataloging) Task Group.

Questions? Visit the TexShare Contact Us page.

EBSCO Contacts

Customize Your District Collection

Thomas McCaffrey, Customer Account Specialist
EBSCO Technical Support
TexShare@ebsco.com
800-653-2726 x3268

 

Request Training

Lisa Dennis, Senior Customer Engagement Manager
EBSCO Customer Engagement Services
lisadennis@ebsco.com
713-823-8080 (mobile – call or text)
800-653-2726 x2087

Need Help with EBSCO Products?

EBSCO logo

IMLS logo

Funding for TexShare is provided in part by a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Texas State Library and Archives Commission in combination with state and local funds.

EBSCO Information Services | 10 Estes Street | Ipswich, MA USA | 800-653-2726 | 978-356-6500 | www.ebsco.com